Sleepless

Open eyes
Facing up
Body’s still
Don’t wanna get up
Toss and turn
No thoughts in mind
Blacked out room
Lights from behind
Not thinking at all
Not feeling stressed
Not troubled by anything
Could do with some rest

Yet it’s weird
I don’t wanna sleep
Wish i could find someone
To talk till sun peeps
Over the horizon
Then sleep in the day
But there’s no one here
To enjoy the company

I’m trying to rest
At least physically
Mental fatigue set in
Appropriately
Part of me knows
This isn’t very helpful
To have a sleep debt
When the workload’s full
Sometimes i wish
I could do with less sleep
I could do so much more
I wouldn’t fall off my seat

I wonder if there’s a reason
Why i can’t close my eyes
Is there something to see
Beyond what i try?




    Leave a Reply

