Study Break-ing

I think i've blogged this before, but i also feel that it deserves second mention, seeing as those of you who read my blog would probably have forgotten when i blogged it already 😀

I walked a mile with Pleasure;
She chattered all the way,
But left me none the wiser
For all she had to say.

I walked a mile with Sorrow
And ne'er a word said she;
But oh, the things I learned from her
When Sorrow walked with me!

– Robert Browning Hamilton, "Along the Road"

I think i'll never grow tired of such poetry. The personification is still so real and i guess most of us can at least vaugely identify with what it says. Another beautiful phrase from a poem that i'll always remember is

To see the world in a grain of sand,
And a heaven in a wildflower,
Hold infinity in the palm of your hand,
And eternity in an hour.

– William Blake, "Auguries of Innocence"

Although i would agree that this is also a great work, but unfortunately i've not been able to understand what he's trying to say firsthand. Perhaps the eternity in an hour part, but not the rest.

Was looking at stuff on my laptop just now and received (or rather, overheard) a lot of comments about my setup and wallpaper. FYI, my wallpaper is this, and i see nothing wrong with it. Is it a crime to put cute stuff on your desktop when you're male? Besides, it's not there because it's cute, it's there because it reminds me. Yes, i draw and sketch too, you seem to have a problem with my holding a pencil and eraser. And why should you care about whether you can see what i'm looking at on my taskbar – you're not the one using the computer. In fact, i've deliberately placed the taskbar there coz it's where i comfortably look, and no one else who is peeking over my shoulder would. Gosh i give up with the world's stereotypes – it's even commented that i own a pink highlighter.

C'mon, you-who-sits-behind-me-and-comments-on-everyone-in-the-row-in-front-of-you, grow up. You're in uni already and i know you've been through army – you'd think that would have taught you something, if not in mindset at least in terms of tact.
I'm not angry or anything – i've learned to accept that people can be like that. You're the one who has to live with that person in the mirror. 😀

There's so much you can learn about interpersonal relations by looking at people. I don't even have to be there physically – just seeing how they talk to me on msn is good enough. Character, personality, habits, all can be determined in a short span of time and all i have to do it look. 🙂




    Leave a Reply

